Awards & Grants:


Related Pages:



"As for most people who knew Penny, she was a mentor. She was a model for me as to how to work with volunteers." Jennifer Fajman

Penny Crane often said "SIGUCCS is what you do for yourself." Linda L. Downing, 2004 Hall of Fame Inductee

Visit the Penny Crane Tributes Page.

Penny Crane Award for Distinguished Service

The Penny Crane Award for Distinguished Service was established by the SIGUCCS board in 2000 to honor the memory of Penny Crane, an active SIGUCCS member from the mid-70's until her untimely death in 1999.

About Penny Crane

Penny CranePenny Crane served in many capacities for both ACM and SIGUCCS including SIGUCCS board chair from 1986 to 1990. For many of our members, Penny comes to mind when service to SIGUCCS is mentioned. Her death left a huge void in the ranks of our volunteers.This award was established by the SIGUCCS board to honor her memory. Visit the Penny Crane Tributes Page for member tributes.




About the Award

The award is granted through a process in which a SIGUCCS member nominates an individual (other than himself or herself) and solicits endorsement of the nomination from at least four other current or former SIGUCCS members who are familiar with the candidate's contributions. The SIGUCCS Awards Selection Committee determines if an award will be presented in the current year and, if so, to whom the award will go. The award ceremony occurs at the ensuing SIGUCCS annual conference.

The selection committee reviews nominations and endorsements as received. The deadline for nominations is July 1 of each year. See the Qualifications & Nominations page for complete details.

The award itself consists of an honorarium of $1,000, a lifetime membership in SIGUCCS, and a physical form of recognition, such as a plaque or paperweight. Travel costs and conference registration for the recipient to attend the ceremony are also covered.

Penny Crane Award for Distinguished Service Recipients

A special award was presented posthumously to Penny Crane at the 1999 SIGUCCS Fall Conference to honor her long-time service and contributions to SIGUCCS and ACM. Since then, the Penny Crane Award for Distinguished Service was established to recognize other individuals who have made significant contributions to SIGUCCS and computing in higher education.

2013 Recipient - Terris Wolff
2012- No recipient
2011 Recipient - Leila Lyons
2010 Recipient - Lida Larsen
2009 Recipient - Robert Paterson
2008 Recipient - Jerry Smith
2007 Recipient - Dennis Mar
2006 Recipient - Jennifer Fajman
2005 Recipient - J. Michael Yohe
2004 Recipient - Linda J. Hutchison
2003 Recipient - Russell S. Vaught
2002 Recipient - John Bucher
2001 Recipient - Jack Esbin
2000 Recipient - Jane Caviness

Financial Support for the Award

The award is supported by a special endowment fund. Anyone wishing to contribute to the fund should send checks made out to "ACM SIGUCCS Penny Crane Fund" to the attention of:

Director, Office of Financial Services
2 Penn Plaza, Suite 701
New York, NY 10121-0701

If a written acknowledgement of the gift is needed, be sure to include the complete name and address of the donor.